Sea Green and Sapphire

A blog about a love of colour, addiction to fabrics and joy of crafting…

A Surprice Parcel

Leave a comment

Vintage Lace

Isn’t it great when you receive a surprise parcel in the post? Someone sending you something nice, just out of the blue. This happened to me the other day, when I received a beautiful collection of vintage lace from my mum’s cousin.

She had seen a tablecloth and a laundry bag I had made for my aunt which had been decorated with bits of lace rescued from my grandmother’s old bed linen. It turned out that she had a stash of lace rescued from worn out pillow cases and bed linen and some that she had crocheted herself. Although she’s very artistic (she’s a painter) she’s not into sewing and so didn’t really have a use for them. So, to my immense delight, she decided to send them to me!

Aren’t they just beautiful! Although in general I’m not into a really frilly romantic style,  I do have a soft spot for some very old-fashioned things like vintage lace.

Because they are so decidedly romantic and feminine, it’s not always easy to think of a modern use for them (and this is probably the reason all the ladies in my extended family send them to me!). Combining them with plain white cloth seems to work best, as it keeps it simple. In some projects though I have gone then unashamedly romantic route and combined them with Liberty prints and other vintage style florals.

Vintage Lace Collection

Author: Heidi

I love colour wherever I find it, in art, photography, gardens, nature. I also love all kinds of fiber arts; spinning, dyeing, knitting, felting, sewing.

Leave a Reply

