Sea Green and Sapphire

A blog about a love of colour, addiction to fabrics and joy of crafting…

Tackling U.F.O’s

Leave a comment

My Knitting UFOs

Firstly, happy New year dear readers! And apologies for such a long gap in blogging.  My mum asked me today if I have stopped blogging completely – no, mum, I haven’t, it’s just that Christmas was such a busy time and then it has taken me several weeks to recover from it (excuses excuses I know…). So it is quite fitting that the theme of today’s post is those things that you don’t ever quite get round to doing.

January is of course the traditional time to start a new virtuous life. I haven’t joined the gym and stopped smoking (well I don’t smoke anyway) but I have decided to tackle some of the U.F.O.’s (UnFinishing Objects) lurking in my craft basket and various cupboards. The inspiration came from the Online Guild of Weavers, Spinners and Dyers that I joined recently. Their January workshop is all about providing inspiration to finish some of those U.F.Os that most of us have. I’ve been loving reading about people’s unfinished projects, all those second socks, cardigans for babies who have grown up and are now having babies themselves, cross stitch kits that never got finished etc etc. I’m so glad I’m not the only person who has these skeletons in their craft cupboards! Hidden in an old box I recently found a shirt that I started sewing when I was a teenager. I know the 80’s is fashionable again but somehow I don’t think I will ever be finishing that one…

But I have managed to knit three second socks, two of those had been waiting to be completed for at least 10 years. Given that it only two a few hours to get them done I am wondering why on earth I never got round to it before…

Vera JumperI have also started knitting the Vera jumper again, which has been hibernating for about a year. I had to unravel quite a bit of it last winter which meant that I could never face picking it up again. It’s so slow to knit that I just keep loosing the mojo and never feel like getting back to it. But I am now determined to finish it, I’m sure it’ll be lovely when it’s done, the colours are just so lovely and it feels very soft and warm.

So feeling all virtuous, I am wishing you the motivation to tackle some of your U.F.O.s!

Author: Heidi

I love colour wherever I find it, in art, photography, gardens, nature. I also love all kinds of fiber arts; spinning, dyeing, knitting, felting, sewing.

Leave a Reply

