Sea Green and Sapphire

A blog about a love of colour, addiction to fabrics and joy of crafting…

Colour Scheming

Leave a comment

Colour Scheme Tulips

I love those little colour-scheme apps that you can find on the internet, you know the ones that let you design a colour scheme based on a photograph. The one I love playing with most is a tool called Photocopa on the Colour Lovers website, which is a bit like Ravelry for people who like colour design (you do need to register to use the tool but it is free).

The tool is not perfect by any means (the input for example has to be a photo on a website, so you can’t just upload one from you own computer, so I upload my photos to flickr first), but it is fun nevertheless. What I like about it is that it picks colours automatically from the photo, but you can then manually choose your own ones by clicking an area on the photo.

So where is all this colour scheming leading to? If you love playing with colours like I do designing a colour scheme is fun just for itself, but I do have a more serious point in mind. Now that I have started creating my own yarn by hand spinning, colour design is of course just a natural other side of the coin. Commercial yarns never have enough colours to satisfy my colour hunger, there always seems to be an exact shade that I am yearning for that doesn’t exist. And as I rely on internet for my yarn purchases, choosing a colour is never easy and the shade always ends up being slightly different from you thought. So dyeing my own yarn is the obvious answer to these dilemmas.

My kitchen is not really a practical enough space for dyeing wool, but luckily we’ve recently bought a piece of land next to our garden that has some outbuildings, including a stables that has a small workshop attached. I’m in the process of setting up this workshop as my very own dyeing studio. My Christmas list is full of bits and pieces for it (including the dyes themselves), so hopefully in the new year I will be able to start playing with colour for real!

Author: Heidi

I love colour wherever I find it, in art, photography, gardens, nature. I also love all kinds of fiber arts; spinning, dyeing, knitting, felting, sewing.

Leave a Reply

