Sea Green and Sapphire

A blog about a love of colour, addiction to fabrics and joy of crafting…

Birch Shawl

Leave a comment

Birch Shawl detail

Here is another of my recent gift knitting projects, a shawl which I knitted for my aunt’s birthday. I used pretty chunky wool (Araucania’s Nature Wool Chunky, in colourway PT6212) to make it warm enough for the cold winter weather in Finland.

I like the Birch leaf pattern very much (find it on Ravelry here) – for lace it is very easy, even I didn’t need any lifelines. And the nice thing about the pattern is that you start from the corner and continue to increase the size until it is big enough or you run out of wool, so it’s ideal for using a random amount of yarn that you happen to have in the stash.

Birch Lace Shawl

Author: Heidi

I love colour wherever I find it, in art, photography, gardens, nature. I also love all kinds of fiber arts; spinning, dyeing, knitting, felting, sewing.

Leave a Reply

