Sea Green and Sapphire

A blog about a love of colour, addiction to fabrics and joy of crafting…

Sewing Works in Progress

Leave a comment

Lotta Jansdotter fabrics

Although recently most of my crafting time has been spent spinning and knitting, I haven’t forgotten about sewing either. I’m working on a patchwork quilt at the moment which is a wedding present for friends (the wedding was ages ago so I’m really late with this project).

It is a double bed-sized quilt, my biggest craft project so far, and it is taking quite a bit longer to finish than I had anticipated.  It has turned into a bit of a nightmare project, in the sense that it just goes on and on. Well I suppose it didn’t help that I didn’t like the first version, so I am already on version 2.0… And I’ve realised I don’t really even have the space to work on a quilt project of this size: there just isn’t the floor space where it fits completely which makes things rather difficult. The backing is made of fleece, so I don’t have to quilt it that much, but I still have to figure out where to lay it out in order to attach the layers together. I am thinking of trying the dining table, and see if I can baste it together there one area at the time. Alternatively, I will have to take it outside and lay it on the lawn… Any handy tips are very welcome!

Once I finally get that project out of the way, I’ve got several sets of curtains I need to make. To keep my sewing motivation going, I bought some fabrics by Lotta Jansdotter from Seamstar. I just love them, they look very Scandi, and the colours are great, colourful but not too overpowering.

I am thinking of making patchwork style curtains from them, where the squares are quite large and different sizes. Not sure if that sounds too complicated, we’ll see…

Author: Heidi

I love colour wherever I find it, in art, photography, gardens, nature. I also love all kinds of fiber arts; spinning, dyeing, knitting, felting, sewing.

Leave a Reply

