Sea Green and Sapphire

A blog about a love of colour, addiction to fabrics and joy of crafting…

Loving Autumn

Leave a comment

I love autumn. September is one of my favourite months, it’s so perfect in many ways. It is still warm enough, but with slight crispness in the air, it’s great for foraging and other outdoor activities. It’s a season for apples and blackberries, and lots of great comfort food.

I think knitters everywhere have a special fondness for autumn. It’s a season for cosy jumpers and new knitting projects. Suddenly you remember that winter will be here soon, and so you frantically start knitting hats, scarves, socks and mittens.

I love autumnal colours in yarns – my knitting queue is full of projects in fabulous shades of plum, moss green and burgundy red.

Autumn also signals the start of the Secret Knitting Season (which unfortunately makes blogging about my current knitting projects slightly difficult).

September is a great month for new yarns and pattern collections that just keep coming out every week. My favourite so far is the recent collection of knitting patterns from the Twist Collective. It has so many great and easily wearable patterns that I like. I particularly have my eye on Evendim and Academia but I also think Doppler is a great classic pattern in its simplicity – it’s exactly the kind of jumper I could use with.

I’m almost wishing for lots of rainy and windy weather, so that I can sit here in my cosy home, amongst the piles and piles of wonderful wool, and just knit, knit, knit.

Author: Heidi

I love colour wherever I find it, in art, photography, gardens, nature. I also love all kinds of fiber arts; spinning, dyeing, knitting, felting, sewing.

Leave a Reply

