Sea Green and Sapphire

A blog about a love of colour, addiction to fabrics and joy of crafting…

Back from Holidays

Leave a comment

Aah, it’s so nice to be back at home after the holidays! This year I’m definitely not suffering from any post-holiday blues: it was a nice holiday, don’t get me wrong, but it’s great to be back at home too. It’s lovely to get back to my crafty projects with new enthusiasm, and after a complete two week break from the internet it’s wonderful to be back to blogging, Ravelry and crafty podcasts.

 

This year we went to the North Norfolk coast for our summer holiday. Norfolk is not really an area that has been discovered by foreign tourists, at least I didn’t see many there. The countryside there is beautiful in a very gentle, English and undramatic way, and the villages on the North coast are very pretty. The landscape there is very flat, with big skyes, and huge sandy beaches, surrounded by sand dunes and salt marshes. It’s a good destination for walkers and naturelovers, and those who love English countryside and great pubs.

One day the village of Burnham Market had a craft fair on. There were lots of lovely things there, beautiful pottery and lots of handmade baskets that I quite fancied but could not really afford. So we managed to be sensible and only bought one item for the house that was something we needed – a beautifully handmade coat rack.

Well, it wasn’t really just one item, maybe that was a slight exaggeration… I suppose it wouldn’t have been a succesful craft fair from my point of view if I hadn’t managed to find some yarn there!  Woad-Inc, who grow woad, had a stall there and amongst lots of blue clothing I found some 4-ply sock yarn, of course dyed with woad. It’s a lovely soft yarn, a mix of merino and silk, so definitely too good for socks but ideal for a scarf – I’m thinking the Travelling Woman pattern would be very appropriate for it. I even bought some woad seeds from them, and next summer I’ll have a go at trying to grow it – it would be great to be able to dye some yarn with home-grown woad!

Woad-Inc sock yarn

Very sneakely I also managed to organise a trip to a local yarn shop, Les Tricoteuses in Holt which is a pretty Georgian market town with lots of good independent shops and art galleries.  As I have to rely so much on the internet for my yarn shopping, it was truly wonderful to be able to see and feel the yarn before buying – a real luxury for me indeed! Luckily they had a “man-sofa” there, for the unfortunate other-halves who have to wait for all the yarn fondling to be done.

They stocked Fyberspates yarn which I had heard some good things about but had never seen in “real life”. In the end I bought a few skeins of Scrumptious, both in chunky and lace weight in  a few lovely colourways as well as two skeins of Manos Silk Blend yarn in a semi-solid green (colourway 4635). I’ve been wanting some green yarn for ages, but I’m very particular about the shades of green I like so I haven’t dared to get any from the internet, I’ve been waiting for an opportunity to see them for myself. I’m now well stocked for the autumnal knitting projects such as hats and scarves!

Author: Heidi

I love colour wherever I find it, in art, photography, gardens, nature. I also love all kinds of fiber arts; spinning, dyeing, knitting, felting, sewing.

Leave a Reply

