Sea Green and Sapphire

A blog about a love of colour, addiction to fabrics and joy of crafting…

Playing with Fabrics

Leave a comment

Orange and Pink Tablecloth (detail) by Heidi Tyrvainen

In addition to making great progress with my learning-to-knit-lace project (more of which in another post), I felt like doing a bit of sewing this week, just to do something easy and uncomplicated, and for the instant gratification of quick results.

You might remember I made a tablecloth for my mum a few weeks back, and I felt like sewing a similar one just for me. I had a great time playing with fabrics in my stash, and eventually chose some of my favourite Amy Butler fabrics, in orange, pink and green.

I just love the colour combinations and the patterns (you will have gathered by now that despite my Scandinavian background I don’t really do stylish minimalism). I’m really pleased with the results, the tablecloth suits the dining room really well. The combination of pink and orange gives the room – which is otherwise quite neutral –  a lovely glow. So all in all, instant gratification was received!

Orange and Pink Tablecloth, from Amy Butler fabrics,  by Heidi Tyrvainen

Author: Heidi

I love colour wherever I find it, in art, photography, gardens, nature. I also love all kinds of fiber arts; spinning, dyeing, knitting, felting, sewing.

Leave a Reply

