Sea Green and Sapphire

A blog about a love of colour, addiction to fabrics and joy of crafting…

Shopping for Vintage Fabrics Again

Leave a comment

Vintage Fabrics

Those who have seen my stash of fabrics would no doubt be horrified to learn that I have been buying even more fabrics. Well, rather than buying just random fabrics as I have a habit of doing, this time I have been getting them for very specific projects. And no, I did not have suitable fabrics already in my stash. Most of my fabrics are modern colourful fabrics which, lovely though they are, are completely unsuitable for my new quilting plans.

Vintage Fabrics

One of the plans is to make a double-bed sized quilt for us from vintage fabrics. My first vintage fabric quilt has been such a success my husband suggested I make another one, similar in style but bigger for our bed. Obviously I did not need much encouragement and instantly started surfing eBay and other trusted sites for suitable fabrics. Some of the fabrics arrived today and they are truly lovely.  The quilt is going to have an Arts & Crafts sort of feel, and based on the fabrics I’ve been able to find it looks like it’s going to be a mixture of brown, terracotta and bit of green.

It’s been a couple of years since I bought the fabrics for my previous vintage quilt and I really noticed that the prices have been going up. I suppose vintagey things are pretty trendy at the moment so all the eBay sellers really know the value of their fabrics now. There are far fewer bargains to be had, and the best fabrics are now more expensive than new quilting fabrics, which didn’t used to be the case the last time I was shopping. A good example is Spinsters’ Emporium, a lovely site with a nice selection but very pricey.

But I know the quilt is going to be really fabulous so it’s definitely going to be worth the cost. I’m so looking forward to making it.

Author: Heidi

I love colour wherever I find it, in art, photography, gardens, nature. I also love all kinds of fiber arts; spinning, dyeing, knitting, felting, sewing.

Leave a Reply

