Sea Green and Sapphire

A blog about a love of colour, addiction to fabrics and joy of crafting…

Appreciating Tutorials

Leave a comment

An easy shopping bag sewing project

This week I have been working on the shopping bag tutorial. In order to write the instructions, I made another shopping bag from lovely colourful fabrics from Amy Butler’s Mid West Modern collection.

I suppose it shouldn’t have come as a surprise how much thought, time and effort goes into writing a clear and detailed tutorial . Writing instructions makes you question the whole process: what you are doing, why you are doing it and whether there’d be a better way of doing it. Needless to say, it took a lot longer than I had anticipated and a few times I did wonder why on earth I had publically promised to write it (now I can’t just quietly back out…).

It really makes me appreciate all those countless people on the internet who have written wonderful, informative and free tutorials for everyone else to enjoy and learn from! So here’s a big thank you to all those fantastic people!

An Easy Shopping bag sewing projectRegarding my tutorial, I reckon I need to make at least one more bag to try another way of attaching the lining to the main bag fabric, and after that probably one final one to test the process and get the photos done.

Meanwhile, at least I am getting lots of new project bags for my knitting. Given that I am working on about five knitting/crochet projects at a time, I need lots of them. I’m quite pleased with this one, I like the girly and summery colours!

Author: Heidi

I love colour wherever I find it, in art, photography, gardens, nature. I also love all kinds of fiber arts; spinning, dyeing, knitting, felting, sewing.

Leave a Reply

