Sea Green and Sapphire

A blog about a love of colour, addiction to fabrics and joy of crafting…

An Easy Shopping Bag

Leave a comment

An easy shopping bagIt was a mother’s day in Finland a few weeks ago, and this year I made my mum a shopping bag. She likes romantic and pretty fabrics, so I have a special “Mum” section in my fabric stash, containing a nice selection of traditional English floral fabrics. These ones are from Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Moda which I bought from Quilt Home.

I made her a shopping bag a few years ago, a very simple one with a single layer of fabric. While it was a handy and relatively light bag that fits into a handbag, it did not have any pockets. Recently she made a special request to have a shopping bag with an internal pocket for a purse and keys.

A shopping bag - interior detailSo this is the new version of my shopping bag, this time with a lining and an interior pocket (a first time I have done that so I was very proud of myself).

Now that I know the technique, I am thinking of making another one for myself. This time I am thinking of taking some photos from the process itself so that I can make a tutorial out of it. I haven’t made any tutorials yet for this blog so it’ll be a good learning process for me.

Author: Heidi

I love colour wherever I find it, in art, photography, gardens, nature. I also love all kinds of fiber arts; spinning, dyeing, knitting, felting, sewing.

Leave a Reply

