Sea Green and Sapphire

A blog about a love of colour, addiction to fabrics and joy of crafting…

Yarn Heaven

Leave a comment

Last Thursday I had an absolutely fantastic yarn day: I received lots and lots of new (or new-to-me) yarn from several different places.

Firstly, there was a parcel of sock yarns from Kira from Maine in the US. The yarns were so wonderful, really beautiful colours and they were so soft too. Clearly she has a great taste in yarns! She had also done an incredible job in labelling the yarns, and even writing what type of wool each ball was. So thank you so much, Kira!! I will be enjoying using these wools in my sock yarn blanket.

Then I received my birthday yarns from my husband (he gave me some money for my birthday – which was a few weeks ago – and I got to order the yarns myself). Given that these were special occasion yarns, I wanted to get something really nice. I particularly wanted to get some Madelinetosh yarn, as I have my eye on the Tea Leaves cardigan on Ravelry. There are some UK suppliers of Madelinetosh, but I did not find anyone who had a particularly large selection. Loop had a reasonable one, but they didn’t have photographs of all the colours and they did not have enough of the colourway I particularly wanted. So I decided to try my luck on the other side of the Atlantic and  luckily found a great online yarn store “Eat Sleep Knit“. They had a great selection and availability, and it turned out the postage was no more than I would have been charged by a UK company. The yarns arrived in just over a week, so all in all I was really impressed.  They had lots of lovely hand-dyed yarns so I’m sure I’ll use them again in the future.

The birthday yarns included

  • Madelinetosh Vintage in “Terrarium” (a dark green one with a hint of turquoise – unfortunately the colours in the photo above do not do it justice)
  • Madelinetosh Tosh Lace in “Composition Book Gray” (a lovely bluey gray colour), one skein which will be enough for a scarf
  • Malabrigo Lace, a 100% baby merino which is soo soft, in cognac which is  a browney rose colour, bit hard to describe
  • The Unique Sheep Tinsel Toes sock yarn (50/50 superwash merino/Tencel) in Orange Gold (a mixture of cream, gold, brown and antique rose)

I’m so pleased with these yarns and can’t wait to finish some existing knitting projects so that I am allowed to start on these ones!

And finally, my father brought me couple of plastic bags full of scraps of wool that were leftovers from his and my mum’s craft projects. It really is true that one person’s leftovers are another person’s treasure! A lot of these wools are pastel shades that remind me of ice cream and sorbet, so I am thinking they would be great for kitchen accessories like tea cosies and retro style panholders. I’ll have a great time browsing Ravelry for suitable patterns!

I must say I am happy to have this blog, as going on and on about these yarns to anyone in person would probably bore them to death! So if you have read this blog all the way up to this point it must mean you love yarns as much as I do. Thank you so much for reading!

Author: Heidi

I love colour wherever I find it, in art, photography, gardens, nature. I also love all kinds of fiber arts; spinning, dyeing, knitting, felting, sewing.

Leave a Reply

