Sea Green and Sapphire

A blog about a love of colour, addiction to fabrics and joy of crafting…

Can a Sock Be Too Colourful?

Leave a comment

A Sock from Noro Kyreyon yarnI recently bought some colourful Noro Kureyon sock yarn. I deliberately picked colourways with strong vibrant colours as I am hoping for some nice leftovers for the sock yarn blanket that I am also knitting at the moment.

Knitting it was a lot of fun as in the beginning I did not have any idea of how it would turn out. The colours revealed themselves during the knitting process one by one, I think I must have had most of the colours of the rainbow in it. I really love the way the colours change from one to the next. The yarn obviously has been dyed before it was spun, so you get lovely spots of colour appearing first, before the change really happens. The end result is like an impressionistic painting. The uneven single ply texture adds to the effect.

And yet, I do have some doubts about this sock. I have a suspicion it really is too colourful… Perhaps the yarn would be better use in the blanket where there’s no such thing as too many colours? I haven’t started the other sock yet as I am still trying to decide what to do. Should I keep the sock and just enjoy the colours or would it be better to unravel it and reuse the yarn in the blanket instead?

Author: Heidi

I love colour wherever I find it, in art, photography, gardens, nature. I also love all kinds of fiber arts; spinning, dyeing, knitting, felting, sewing.

Leave a Reply

