Sea Green and Sapphire

A blog about a love of colour, addiction to fabrics and joy of crafting…

The Patchwork Fabric Bug Bites Again

Leave a comment

The Whimsy Fabrics by ModaAs the regular readers of this blog will know, most of my recent crafty activities have involved yarney things that can be done outdoors while enjoying the sunshine. Consequently I have not done very much sewing for ages and recently I have started missing it.

Last week, on the way back from our holiday, we stopped at the town of Lewes. It’s a lovely place, with lots of quaint little streets lined with characteful old buildings. I was hoping to come across a craft shop and sure enough, we soon came across a sign to “the Needlemakers’ Gallery” which I thought sounds like a place that absolutely must have a sewing or yarn shop of some kind. And I was delighted to discover a wonderful little patchwork fabric shop, a real treasure trove of lovely fabrics (my husband said I must have a 6th sense for craft shops that allows me to find them wherever I go).

Given that I do most of my craft shopping online, it was great to be able to see the colours properly, feel the textures and match fabrics with each other. Of course I couldn’t resist myself and the visit ended up being quite expensive, but it was definitely worth it. I bought a collection of fabrics by Moda called Whimsy – a lovely selection of slightly retro looking fabrics in pale olive, cream, red and brown shades. They only had them in packs of fat squares, so I had to buy the whole selection (what a shame…) . These fabrics were my colour fix.

The second group of fabrics were in a lot more melacholy shades of muted gray and brown. They are vintage in style, some of them designed by William Morris. And although they are new, they still have a lovely old-fashioned feel to them.

I have already got several project ideas in my head – I feel like making some tablecloths – and so I have started cutting up the Whimsy fabrics this morning. I am also thinking the gray fabrics could make nice clothing, perhaps a top of some sort. Hmm… will have to think about that.William Morris Fabrics

The great thing about sewing is that you see results a lot faster than when you are knitting so I am hoping to be able to show some pictures of my new projects in the next couple of days.

Author: Heidi

I love colour wherever I find it, in art, photography, gardens, nature. I also love all kinds of fiber arts; spinning, dyeing, knitting, felting, sewing.

Leave a Reply

