Sea Green and Sapphire

A blog about a love of colour, addiction to fabrics and joy of crafting…

A Historical Week

Leave a comment

 Union JackLast week was truly historical in many respects here in the UK. No, I’m not just talking about the Royal Wedding – what I am talking about is that we had two long bank holiday weekends in a row and it was sunny all week, not a drop of rain!

For me it was a wonderfully lazy week as Hugh and I spent a couple of days in a lovely spa hotel in the south coast. Lounging by an outdoor pool in a bikini in April is definitely another once-in-a-decade type of an event in this country!

Despite all the lazying around I did not forget crafting entirely: I did manage to do some crochet while sunbathing by a pool so my summer cardigan project is progressing nicely. 

Friday, the Royal Wedding day, involved a small party with family and friends. As I knew a lot of time would be spent watching the celebrations on the TV I had brought my knitting with me.Celebratory knitting

Given that my attention was not going to be focused entirely on my knitting, and that there was some champagne involved, I decided extremely simple sock knitting is the way to go. In the end it was a surprisingly productive knitting day (although I did not entirely master the art of knitting while holding a wine glass)!

Author: Heidi

I love colour wherever I find it, in art, photography, gardens, nature. I also love all kinds of fiber arts; spinning, dyeing, knitting, felting, sewing.

Leave a Reply

