Sea Green and Sapphire

A blog about a love of colour, addiction to fabrics and joy of crafting…

Kanzashi Flowers: thinking of Japan

Leave a comment

 I am a big fan of all things Japanese, particularly food, fabrics, arts and crafts. So when I read about making Kanzashi flowers in the iMake blog, I knew I had to have a go at making them.

For the instructions, I bought the “Kanzashi in Bloom” book by Diane Gilleland. The process was suprisingly easy – the instructions in the book are very good – but you do need nimble fingers and a bit of patience. I made them at the end of last week, just before I heard about the tragic events of the earth quake  and the tsunami.

Since then I – like everyone else – have spent a lot of time listening to the terrible news and thinking about the sad stories of people who have just disappeared in the waves. So it seems entirely appropriate to post the pictures of my Kanzashi flowers and spend a moment thinking of the people of Japan and what they are going through at the moment.

Author: Heidi

I love colour wherever I find it, in art, photography, gardens, nature. I also love all kinds of fiber arts; spinning, dyeing, knitting, felting, sewing.

Leave a Reply

