Sea Green and Sapphire

A blog about a love of colour, addiction to fabrics and joy of crafting…

My First Love in Fabrics: Marimekko

Leave a comment

Like many children who grew up in Finland in the 1970’s, for me Marimekko was my first contact with designer fabrics. Not that it was really “designerish” (in the sense of something fancy and out of reach for ordinary people), rather it was and still is very much a part of everyday home life in Finland. It is a rare Finnish home that doesn’t contain something from Marimekko, whether it is curtains or tablecloth made from Marimekko fabrics, or coffee mugs, towels, bags or clothing. It is often the shop women go to if they are looking for presents for friends or family and Marimekko bedlinen is a probably the most popular wedding present.

Marimekko’s fabrics are bold and colourful, often with over-sized patterns. Many of the most popular fabrics were designed in the 1960’s and 1970’s – now that the children who grew up with Marimekko fabrics are adults, they want the fabrics of their childhood in their own homes.

"Unikko table cloth"

"Unikko" tablecloth

Their cottons are sturdy, best suited for home decoration. Because of the large patterns, I don’t tend to use Marimekko in my patchwork projects. The fabrics really come into their own when displayed as large surfaces, such as in tablecloths or curtains.

Last time I was at home in Finland I bought some Marimekko remnants. I am hoping to sew some shopping bags from them  – so watch this space….
Author: Heidi

I love colour wherever I find it, in art, photography, gardens, nature. I also love all kinds of fiber arts; spinning, dyeing, knitting, felting, sewing.

Leave a Reply

