Sea Green and Sapphire

A blog about a love of colour, addiction to fabrics and joy of crafting…

Fabric Obsession

Leave a comment

I decided my first post in this blog has got to be about fabrics. I have always loved them, hoarded them, and made plans for what I will “one day” make of them.  They (along with yarns), are my creative inspiration. If I see fabric that I really love, most of the time I won’t be able to resist buying it, without slightest regard to whether I need it, what I can use it for, or whether I in fact really have the money for it. I just can’t stop myself – it is an addiction. On holidays, my husband Hugh has had to wait for me outside endless fabric shops or market stalls, while I spend hours stroking lovely colourful fabrics that you just can’t buy at home. Luckily, my husband’s attitude is “if it makes you happy dear…”  (I hasten to add that I do pay for my own fabrics, which may explain his relaxed attitude).

You can just imagine what happened when I discovered that you can buy fabrics, old and new, from the internet: the cupboards started filling up even faster with fabrics from all over the world, Japan, India, the US….

Luckily, in the last couple of years I have actually had the time to start making things from my extensive collection of materials. This blog is about those creations.

Author: Heidi

I love colour wherever I find it, in art, photography, gardens, nature. I also love all kinds of fiber arts; spinning, dyeing, knitting, felting, sewing.

Leave a Reply

